Refuse Verbal Abuse

Today I was on the escalator up the train station and accidentally blocked someone who was going up with me. I had moved out of the way but then as he tried to maneuver himself out of the way he stepped into my path again. In the morning rush, it pissed him off and expressed it simply in my face, “F***.” I tried Steve Pavlina’s advice in his article, “Dealing with Difficult People” and pictured the “F***” as a present which I then refused to take with me. Strangely for the first time, it worked to reduce the effect on my mood for the rest of the day. Most of the time, such events upset me greatly and leave my thoughts replaying over and over again. If you have time, try a quick read.

Leave a Reply

